Weekly Photo Challenge: Edge 2

image-64

When I saw Kathie’s WPC Edge photo on ChosenPerspectives this morning, it reminded me of an experience of my own.

One day, when my son was a young driver, he came home and parked the car in the driveway. Even though that was a frequent occurence, this time he forgot to pull up the parking break before he got out of the car. Our driveway is on a hill so the car rolled down the driveway and over the four-foot retaining wall at the end. It stopped at a two-foot statue of Buddha.

What I remember most about this incident is that I didn’t “lose it.” It has been a parenting moment that I have felt proud of ever since. At least in  my memory, I stayed very calm. I felt relieved that my son wasn’t hurt and knew he would learn from the experience. I promptly called a tow truck and had the car pulled up. I don’t believe there was even any damage to the car. I remember thanking the Buddha statue for stopping the rolling car.

I took this photo with a Polaroid camera. As I look at it now, it occurs to me that this incident may be why the trees in that area bend to the left. I’ve always thought it was because they were stretching towards a sunnier part of the yard!

 
Edge

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Edge 2

  1. Do you not remember what happened to the Buddha, or are choosing not to mention it? I also thought of that experience immediately upon seeing the picture. I had been fighting with Chaitanya when we pulled up, and the car started rolling down in slow motion. I had just gotten it back from having a full check up as I was taking it with me to California. Then I had to take it back in to the same place for an extra check up after that incident. Pretty embarrassing. Everything was ok though… Except the buddha, but we put him back together. I still have a picture of me and Chaitanya standing next to our work after it was done. I think it’s in my file’s over Dad’s place.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great story and picture. I remember riding up to Mt. Hood east of Portland, Oregon after skating one night with a bunch of kids. The driver wanted to go down this one road and explore. (at midnight – right?) For some reason, he stopped. “I couldn’t see anything ahead.” We all got out of the truck and checked. There wasn’t anything. It was the edge of a cliff.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!