I Love Synchronicity!

IMG_1809

 

A few days before I left for India last year, I found out my friend Prakash was going to be taking the same flight I was on. Six weeks later, I discovered he would be on my return flight as well. That might seem like no big deal, but the reality is I had purchased my tickets for the November 28 to January 11 flights in August, and Prakash’s tickets were booked at the last minute due to family emergencies. He had planned to return to the U.S. after Christmas.  As my departure date approached, I had no idea he was still in India. (And he did not know my itinerary.)  To make it even stranger, we had ended up on the same flight earlier in the year. There is NO way all of these shared flights could have been chance.

Two weeks ago, I experienced some other synchronicities.  I will give you two pieces of backstory before I share those. 1) The Challenge for Growth prompt for that week had been “I Unplug.” I had made the commitment to unplug my computer, phone, television and radio between 9 a.m. and noon each day. 2) I was arranging to place an ad for our local GreenFriends group and had decided to take Tree Planting and Habitat Restoration off of the ad temporarily, since our group hadn’t engaged in that particular activity for more than a year.

On Saturday, February 20, I chose to walk the Cheasty loop (a circular path that starts and ends near my house) during my unplugged time. When I came back from the walk, I would arrange for the changes in the ad. I hadn’t taken that walk for at least two years, because, for a variety of reasons, I hadn’t had the stamina I needed to do it. That day though, I felt full of energy!

About five minutes into my walk, I looked ahead of me and saw a canopied booth. There was a sign on it that read “Cheasty.org.” When I reached the booth, I talked to the people who were standing there. I learned they were a local group who are working to clear out the invasive plants in the Cheasty Greenspace. Once they remove the blackberries, ivy and other invasive species, they plant trees in the new space. The group was in the middle of a work party at that time.

I couldn’t see anything from the road, so one of the leaders, Joel, guided me to the work area.

 

Joel said they had work parties in this area the third Saturday of every month.  He said they also held work parties on the first weekend of each month, in an area a few blocks south of the one where we were standing. When I told him about our local GreenFriends group, he said he would love to have us join their work parties.

After saying goodbye, I continued my walk.  I passed an area where Seattle city workers were converting wood into wood chips.  A lot of those chips are used by the Cheasty.org group.

Not far from there, I saw the place where the Cheasty group had been working for much longer.  As you look at the pictures, keep in mind that all of these fields were covered with blackberry vines not long ago.  The area had completely transformed since the last time I walked this loop.

I continued on, picking up litter as I walked.  When I arrived back at my house, I discovered I had been gone for two hours!  It was not lost on me that this experience would not have happened if I had not been participating in the “I Unplug” challenge.  And I chose to unplug on the same day and at the same time that the Cheasty.org group was working in the area I was walking.  In addition, all of this had occurred shortly after I had made the decision to remove Tree Planting and Habitat Restoration from the ad.  Needless to say, I left it in.

I LOVE SYNCHRONICITY!

5 thoughts on “I Love Synchronicity!

I would love to hear from you!

