September Garden Moments

My one melon.  The plant was given to me late in the season by friend Saroja!  Ymmmm.  I wonder how many of the tiny melons it would have produced if it had the whole summer to grow.

Almost everything in the garden has finished producing.  But I can start preparing for next year; in this case harvesting bush bean seeds.

The plant that is doing its best to ignore the season is the one that produces the big red and yellow dahlias.  In the many years it grew in my back yard, the plant produced one flower a year.  When I moved it to the sunny front yard two years ago, it took off!  The photo on the right is of a part of the plant that was knocked to the ground by wind and rain a few weeks ago.  It still is blooming!  And so is the rest of it.

7 thoughts on “September Garden Moments

  1. Omg I’ve never even knew such tiny melons existed – what joy to look at it!!! Do you know how fast they actually grow? Just yesterday I was looking at the watermelons at the turkish store – they were so MASSIVE they wouldn’t even fit into a fridge! I just keep wondering how they get that size and how long it takes it…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will see if I can find out what they are called and let you know. As I mentioned, they were gifted to me so I don’t know the name, but I want to.

      I had trouble with the plant flowering or even producing a fruit and then dropping off. I don’t think the person that gave the plants to me got any.

      There was never one when I looked and then all of a sudden I saw that one. I think it had grown over a two month period but I’m not sure. I planted it so late though. I hope I can plant one next year and give it a full season. It would be fun to have lots of of those little melons. My garden is small so planting the big ones won’t work.

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

