Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site

Photo Credit: Wikimedia

On June 29 and 30, Amma conducted programs in Atlanta for the first time.  At one point, my daughter Chaitanya asked if I wanted to visit Martin Luther King, Jr.’s church and the other buildings at the MLK National Historical Site.  I jumped at the opportunity. We went during the short break between Amma’s morning and evening programs.  Our plan was to see as much as we could this year, and view the rest the next time we go to Atlanta. The first place we visited was Ebenezer Baptist church.  Starting in 1960, Martin Luther King, Jr. co-pastored that church, along with his father.  As we sat in the pews, a recording of one of Dr. King’s speeches filled the air.  I closed my eyes and imagined myself being present at the time the speech was first given.  I would have been content to stay sitting there for hours. When I looked around, I noticed many people were taking photographs.  I resisted doing the same, but in time changed my mind; I wanted to be able to share this memorable experience with others.

At King Hall there were many exhibits about the lives of Dr. King and his wife Coretta Scott King.  In addition, the hall contined rooms that were tributes to Rosa Parks and Mahatma Gandhi.

800px-Martin_Luther_King_Jr_NYWTS_5
Photo Credit: Wikimedia

In Rosa Parks’ room, there were many pictures and mementos.  I was particularly drawn to a quilt that was hanging on the wall.

Among the items in Mahatma Gandhi’s room were one of his walking sticks, a pair of sandals, a portable spinning wheel, and framed quotes.  I was not aware that Dr. King had so much respect for Mahatma Gandhi.  I also didn’t know he had traveled to India.  Dr.  King once said: “To other countries I may go as a tourist, to India I come as a pilgrim.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next we went to the place where Dr. and Coretta King’s bodies are interred.  It was beautiful and felt like very sacred space to me.

We had planned to visit the home where Dr. King was born, but once there we discovered they only let visitors in twice a day and you have to get tickets ahead of time.  We did appreciate having the opportunity to see his house and stand on his porch, but will have to wait for a future visit to go inside. 20150629_162706 We spent the last half hour of our visit at the National Park Visitor Center.  Below you will see parts of the huge mural that is across from the entrance to that building.  I wish I had had time to look carefully at all that was contained in that artwork. Inside the Center there were enough exhibits to keep us busy for most of a day.  Several of the displays were interactive.  An example is in the picture below, where visitors were able to walk alongside statues of the civil rights marchers.  We will definitely spend more time at this Center in the future.

The night before our visit, I read about the National Historical Site in the tourist book in my hotel.  I found a story that really surprised me.  In preparation for writing this post, I learned more about it. When Martin Luther King, Jr. was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, not everyone supported the decision.  The first ever integrated dinner in Atlanta was planned to celebrate it.  Black business owners signed up to attend but the white business establishment wanted nothing to do with it.  J. Paul Austin, chairman and CEO of Coca-Cola, and Mayor Ivan Allen brought some of the prominent white business leaders together.  The message Paul Austin gave them was:

“It is embarrassing for Coca-Cola to be located in a city that refuses to honor its Nobel Prize winner.  We are an international business.  The Coca-Cola Co. does not need Atlanta.  You all need to decide whether Atlanta needs the Coca-Cola Co.”

The event sold out within two hours! 20150629_165301 During our time at the Site, I experienced deep emotions and many memories.  That era had affected me and my life decisions profoundly.  There is no doubt that Martin Luther King, Jr. contributed significantly to making me the person I am today. I feel blessed to have visited Dr. King’s memorial site and look forward to returning to it in the future.

13 thoughts on “Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site

  1. Thank you so much for this beautiful post! I enjoyed every word. Of course having chaired the Gandhi/King Seasons for Peace and Nonviolence here in Tucson for 18 years, (www.facebook.com/seasonsforpeaceandnonviolencetucsonhll )you can see how you are speaking directly to my heart. I have taken this ministry online in my 70’s. Big hugs (Oh I think i posted an AMMA post there today. ,3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you liked my post. I looked up the facebook page you mentioned. It was fun to see the Amma quote there. I loved the video of the man building a house for the woman who was sleeping on the ground outside his house. Do you know if the police let it stay there?

      Like

      1. I looked up more information about the project and see that they have to be moved every 72 hours. He’s looking for a place where LA will let people stay in them without having to move so regularly. I love your facebook page.

        Like

  2. Wonderful post, Karuna, thank you! I’m still surprised at the principled position taken by Coca Cola in this instance. A responsible corporate citizen and community member — what a concept!

    Like

  3. Such a great thing to be able to soak up such an atmosphere … and I know what you mean about being hesitate about taking photos in places of religion, it always feels a bit strange, but it is good to share with others and encourage them to experience too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For twenty years or more I didn’t take photos believing it was important to be in the moment not the past. Then about five years ago I was asked twice to be the historian for a retreat which required taking pictures of the things that happened. I find it fascinating that photography has become a major part of my blog. I never would have thought that would happen. Life is interesting………

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great post, Karuna! My another one that got me teary eye, but oh well 🙂 I am pleased to read about Coca Cola’s quote you mentioned here. They are one of the biggest sponsors for our national helpline too. The photos are wonderful, thanks for sharing your journey with us.

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

