Weekly Photo Challenge: Yellow

This has been a week of learning to let go of plans.  It occurred to me that this photo challenge is another opportunity to respond to that lesson.  I had “planned” to create a post similar to  Red, Red and More Red and A Pop of Color for the Yellow challenge.  I even took some pictures for it, but I’m now realizing that the “perfect” response to the challenge is one of the first photos I took!

 

20141222_113554

 

Submitted for Weekly Photo Challenge:  Yellow

Challenge Description:  This holiday season, we’re throwing you a photo challenge color curveball. Many of us around the world are ensconced in the holiday season. You may be surrounded with blue and silver if you’re celebrating Hanukkah; black, red, and green, if you’re celebrating Kwanzaa; or festooned with reds and greens if Christmas is coming to your house. With this week’s challenge, show us what yellow means to you.

 

15 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Yellow

      1. You are probably right; there are many cultivars, though it looks remarkably like a Datura I once grew. They are also known as ‘Angel’s Trumpets’ and ‘Moonflowers’. The name ‘Datura’ is taken from the Hindi धतूरा ‘dhatūra’. In small measures it was used in Ayurveda as a medicine from ancient times. It is also used in rituals and prayers to Shiva.

        Like

      2. Very interesting. Thanks for sharing all of this with me.

        I don’t know what it is or it isn’t but even thinking about the possibility it might be made me remember the years I did migrant farm labor in the 70’s. In Pennsylvania we were paid by the hour instead of by how much fruit or vegetables we picked. The young white men that worked in those fields spent most of their time harvesting “their” crop instead of the farmer’s. Unbeknownst to him, he had pot growing wild all the way through his orchard!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I just looked it up in google images and saw many varieties. I didn’t see any that were the same although the blooms had similarities. The way they grew and the leavers were quite different in most cases.

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

