Reminiscing- 1990 to 2014

I have come to Amma’s ashram in Amritapuri, India almost every year since January 1990.  While to me it often feels like nothing has changed during that time, it is also obvious that so much is different.

When I first met Amma she was 35 years old.  Now she is 61.

I arrived soon after the main part of the temple had been finished;  the top floors were not complete.  I remember participating in brick and gravel seva.  We would form human chains and pass the bricks to the top floors, one at a time.  We would also carry bags of gravel where ever they needed to go.  I remember thinking that part of me would remain in Amritapuri when I left India because of all the bricks I had touched.  This is a picture of the temple as it looks today.

When I sat in the temple for bhajans (devotional singing) that first year, I wondered why Amma had built a temple so big.  We only filled about a third of the temple at that time.

Amritapuri0006

It didn’t take long before the temple was packed.

During my first years there, Amma gave darshan (hugs) in a small hut.

Amritapuri0005

After a few years the crowds were so big darshan had to be moved to the temple.  Many years later, even the temple was too small to accommodate the number of people who came and darshan was moved to a newly built auditorium.

On my first visit, water surrounded most of the ashram.  The land was created by residents carrying bag after bag of sand and dumping it into the ponds.  After some time the ponds became solid land.  I remember sitting with Amma in the fresh sand behind the temple.

Amritapuri0003

Years later, the auditorium was built on that landfill.  It seemed gigantic too, but it wasn’t long before it was filled with people.  The second picture was taken on December 24 of this year.

For many years when we visited Amritapuri, we took a taxi from the airport to Valikkavu and then traveled to the ashram by canoe.  This was our first view of the ashram.

Amritapuri0011

After the tsunami, Amma built a bridge to connect the peninsula, where the ashram is located, and the mainland.  Now we can walk to Vallikavu.  The canoes are still there, but I haven’t taken one since the bridge was built.

asrham-01

When I first came to Amritapuri, the ashram consisted of the house where Amma was born and raised, the Kalari, the temple, a guest house and huts.  This is a picture of one of the huts.

Amritapuri0004

Now the ashram is huge.  There are so many places for visitors to stay.  It is an ever growing village.

thumbnail-ap

In those early years, we never knew whether Amma would come to the nightly bhajans; there was always the energy of anticipation.  When Amma attended, the bhajans often lasted into the night.

In those days she would sit on the temple floor with us; all of us facing the Kali murti.  There were no microphones and very few musical instruments.  After some time, Amma and the musicians started sitting on the side of the room.  I think they may have added more instruments at that time.  As the crowds grew, Amma and the musicians moved to the temple stage, facing us.

When I first visited the ashram, Amma had just taken responsibility for the orphanage in Parippally, because the children were not being fed and cared for properly.  I think there may have been a vocational program of some kind by then too.  Now Amma’s humanitarian projects are so extensive it is not realistic for me to list them in a post.  Here are a few:

Amrita University campus at Amritapuri has Schools of:

The Kochi Campus has Schools of:

There are many other campuses as well.  In addition to the university, Amma also has programs that meet people’s basic needs (food, shelter, medical care, education and livelihood) as well as providing disaster relief and addressing environmental issues.  You can learn more about her humanitarian activities at Embracing the World.

14amma-pope3

When I first came to Amritapuri, people in Oachira, one of the closest villages, had never heard of her. Last month, Amma was chosen by the Pope to represent Hinduism at a meeting of religious leaders.  The purpose of the meeting was to sign a Joint Declaration of Religious Leaders against Modern Slavery.  The pledge is to end modern day slavery by 2020. While Amma has been recognized by the international community for a long time, it is still a good example of the difference between the early days and now.

Amma, this daughter of a fisherman, has accomplished so much in her 61 years of life.  She is certainly a living example of the difference one person’s life can make.  I will be forever grateful for all that she has given to me, my family and the world.

 

Photo credits:  The photos came from my book Getting to Joy:  A western householders spiritual journey with Mata Amritanandamayi (which is out of print but sometimes used copies can be found), from photos I have obtained from the ashram over the years and from Amritapuri.org and Amrita.edu webpages.  Most of the photos will be enlarged if you click on them.

 

16 thoughts on “Reminiscing- 1990 to 2014

  1. Thanks, I so enjoyed reading this post. It is the day after Christmas and the house is quiet for now, just taking some time to catch up with my reading. It’s a privilege to accompany you on your journey.

    Like

  2. Ah what a beautiful post, Karuna! I love to hear about the beginnings…when I was at the Toronto retreat, it was nice hearing older people talk to me (as you do) of when they first saw Amma 30+ years ago and finding her so beautiful inside and out. Her beauty is her soul that shines. I imagine you passing along brick after brick. Your story here is so impressive, thank you for sharing. I am reading backwards…:) on the the previous post, Oliana xx

    Like

  3. Wow, gosh I am just dumbstruck at the size and beauty of the ashram, I had simply no idea it was like that at all. It is simply vast, I cannot imagine sitting anywhere with so many people, i would find it totally overwhelming. it is amazing you have been on the journey from the beginning until now that is wonderful, very magical xx

    Like

      1. I meant the number of buildings increase endlessly. The crowds will get smaller after the holidays, but it will still be big. I think there are about 4000 people that live here, maybe more. Plus all the daily visitors who come.

        This place has always been busting at the seams. You can see how many people were in the temple, and then it didn’t take long to fill the auditorium as well. In the old days there were no rooms for most of the people so everyone was always outside. Now lots of people are in their rooms. I can’t imagine how crowded it would be if everyone was outside at once. The closest to that was probably Christmas eve, but even then a lot of people would have gone to bed early!

        Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

