Photography 101: Architecture

Years ago, a family in my neighborhood added a futuristic addition to their existing house.  I decided it would make a good subject for this assignment.

Train your eye to look for architectural elements that translate in black and white: sharp lines and patterns, defined shapes, large surface areas, and a mix of very light and very dark colors. Compare the color and monochrome versions of today’s shot.

I took photos of four different angles of the  house and used a variety of effects to make them monochrome.  Below you will see them in color, black and white and sepia followed by a slide show of them with the Holga effect.

And here are the four pictures in Holga.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I took photos of one other house that seems very futuristic, especially since it is located in my neighborhood of 60 to 100 year old homes.  It has probably been here about 20 years by now!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written for Photography 101:  Architecture

13 thoughts on “Photography 101: Architecture

  1. Wow! I’m sorry that is all I can say, love your photos but the house it not something I’d want. Anyway, if we all had the same taste what a boring world this would be. Pretty interesting.

    Like

    1. I just added another slide show. That house is even stranger for this neighborhood… and it has probably been here 20 years!

      Thanks for viewing my post and commenting.

      Like

    1. That is my favorite too. Explore http://www.picmonkey.com. You can do amazing things there. I will be in India soon so can show you how to use it if you have any trouble figuring it out. It is a website for free editing. (I bought the upgrade but have to figure out how to transfer that to the new computer so have been using the basic again.)

      Like

      1. I leave on Friday. I will definitely be blogging while I am I am there! I look forward to reading your challenge. If possible, let me know when it is up.

        Like

I would love to hear from you!

