Weekly Photo Challenge: Accomplishment

For some time, I have realized that I spend so much time working on my laptop that it would be better for my back and my health in general if I had a standing computer desk.  That way I could stand up when I use the laptop.  I looked on the internet for one but it didn’t take long to determine that they cost more than I was willing to pay, i.e. $100-200.

I decided to create my own standing desk by putting three small tables on top of each other with a piece of plywood in-between each section.  I used it for most of the year, but eventually tired of having something so unsightly in my living room.

Two months ago, I was at a friend’s house and saw his standing computer desk.  My eyes lit up.  It was exactly what I had been looking for, and he had purchased it for only $36!  I soon discovered that the price had gone up since he bought his, but I was still able to buy one for $46 plus tax. (In obtaining the link for this post, I noticed that the price has increased again.)  Now, while I work, I can stand when I want to stand and sit when I want to sit.  I love it!

20141115_091258

 

Purchasing the computer desk was an accomplishment, but it wasn’t the biggest one.  For as long as I can remember, my dining room table has been covered with clutter.  There is the mail, Sanskrit homework, info for the monthly newsletter I write, bills, the laptop, items I need to write posts, and a whole lot more.  I generally push things to the side when I need space to eat, or since I live alone, I just eat elsewhere.  The rest of the house isn’t a mess but the dining room table sure has been.

Having the computer desk has made all the difference in the world.  After I put the desk together, I cleaned the dining room table and it has stayed completely free of clutter ever since.  If I put items on it during the day, then I remove them shortly thereafter.

 20141115_085916

With all the clutter removed, I can see how scarred the table is, but that is a job for another day.  For now I’m going to celebrate the accomplishment of having a clean table and a clean dining room!

*****

Written for Weekly Photo Challenge: Accomplishment

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Accomplishment

    1. I use the stool when I want to sit. I’m not sure if that is what you were noticing, or if you were referring to the shelf on the desk that looks like a seat! It would be nice if that pulled out and turned into a seat, but it doesn’t.

      Like

  1. i wish I had known you had teh back problems. I use a standing up desk and without it i wouldn’t be able to use the computer at all as my issue is sitting completely, i can’t do it without it causing a knock on of extreme pain. There are some great stand up desks out there but i am glad you have found one. The Swedish I think have adopted the stand up theory in many offices and studies have shown for it to be far healthier for people even without issues 🙂 xx

    Like

    1. I agree that it is more healthy for everyone. Sitting hunched over a desk for long hours is not good. There are some people here that type standing on a treadmill. That I can’t imagine doing.

      When my back is out, which thankfully hasn’t happened for a long time, I can also stand or lie down but not sit, so I know what you mean. I can’t imagine living with the pain as long as you are having to.

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

