Memories of Taize

Yesterday, I read a beautiful and moving poem, Remaining True, written by Wendell A. Brown.  The picture that went with the poem contained the words from Psalms 103:1  “Bless the Lord, oh my soul, and all that is within me, bless His holy name.”

The Psalm reminded me of a song from Taize that I love, Bless the Lord My Soul.  I found it on YouTube and played it.  As I listened, tears came to my eyes.

Wikipedia says this about Taize:

The Taizé Community is an ecumenical monastic order in Taizé, Saône-et-Loire, Burgundy, France. It is composed of more than one hundred brothers, from Protestant and Catholic traditions, who originate from about thirty countries across the world. It was founded in 1940 by Brother Roger Schütz, a Reformed Protestant. Guidelines for the community’s life are contained in The Rule of Taizé[1] written by Brother Roger and first published in French in 1954.

The community has become one of the world’s most important sites of Christian pilgrimage. Over 100,000 young people from around the world make pilgrimages to Taizé each year for prayer, Bible study, sharing, and communal work. Through the community’s ecumenical outlook, they are encouraged to live in the spirit of kindness, simplicity and reconciliation.

In December of 2001,  two friends and I went to Taize on our way to Amma’s ashram in India.   I felt so blessed to be in the presence of Brother Roger.  He radiated a spiritual energy that was so palpable….. and so kind.

Below you will find YouTube videos of two Taize songs.  The first is Bless the Lord My Soul and the second is my favorite Taize song, Veni Sancte Spiritus.  I picked this version to share with you not only because the music is beautiful, but also because it has pictures of Taize and of Brother Roger.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

As I listened to the second song, tears started pouring down my cheeks.  There are places in Seattle where Taize chants are sung regularly.  It is time for me to go again….. very soon!

4 thoughts on “Memories of Taize

  1. My parents were French and they experienced a lot of suffering during the war. I don’t know when my father started going to Taizé. Sometime in the 60’s, i think. He would go once a year and find solace there. I have never been.
    I feel so moved from watching these videos and listening to the chanting of “Veni Sancte Spiritus”. In this moment i feel so close to my dad. He died in 1986. Through my own experience in watching these videos I finally get a sense of the peace he might have felt during his pilgrimages, and i am oh so grateful that Taizé was there for him to go to.
    What an amazing, unexpected gift your post has been for me.
    Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

