Weekly Photo Challenge: From Out-of-this-World

Soon after I started to drive yesterday, I noticed that there were two insects on the window to the left of me, about 8 inches from my face.  They did not look like anything I had ever seen before and their presence and proximity startled me.  I couldn’t tell if they were inside the car or outside.

As I continued my ten minute journey, I took quick glances at them from time to time. The horizontal portion of the insect looked like it could be holding on to the outside of the window similar to the way an upside down gecko holds on to the ceiling (i.e. with suction).  That horizontal part was at least 3/4 of an inch long.

Once I reached my destination, I looked at the insects closely and took a picture of one of them.  At that time, it was obvious the horizontal part was the insects’ wings.  It was also clear that the insects were inside the car.  I opened the car door and they both flew out; one turned around and came back in before I could shut the door.  I haven’t seen it since.

Insect

They reminded me of mosquitoes although I had never seen a mosquito that looked like these or was so big.  When I returned home, I perused pictures of mosquitoes on the internet and didn’t find any that were similar to the insects I had seen.

This week’s photo challenge was to take a picture of “…. an image that looks dreamy to you. A photo of a place you often visit in dreams. A snapshot of your dreamy boy- or girlfriend. A scene that looks a bit out-of-this world. Take us on a flight of fancy!”

While this may not be what the author of the prompt had in mind, my recent insect experience definitely felt other-worldly to me!  Do you know what kind of insect this is?

7 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: From Out-of-this-World

  1. I was going to post that same thing. Its a cranefly. They are common in Seattle in lawns. 🙂

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crane_fly

    Though when I first came into contact with them, as a child, I thought they might be a mosquito, but I was told they were mosquito eaters. So I called them that for the longest time. Not sure if they actually eat mosquito but their larva do eat the roots of grass and can create bald spots in the lawns. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for all the info. I looked it up and also looked at google images. The legs and body look very much like that. The wings of the one I saw were much darker if I’m remembering it right. But maybe that goes with the aging that Suzanne talked about!

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

